Cardinal Gerald Lacroix of Quebec, pictured at the Vatican in 2014, was named to the Congregation for Divine Worship and the Sacraments, along with a number of others, Oct. 28. CNS photo/Paul Haring

Pope names Lacroix a new member of worship congregation, among others

By  Junno Arocho Esteves, Catholic News Service
  • October 28, 2016

VATICAN CITY – Pope Francis renewed the membership of the Congregation for Divine Worship and the Sacraments by naming new members, including Canadian Cardinal Gerald Lacroix of Quebec and Bishop Arthur J. Serratelli of Paterson, New Jersey.

Bishop Serratelli also serves as chairman of the U.S. bishops' Committee on Divine Worship.

Publishing the names of the new members Oct. 28, the Vatican also said the pope named New Zealand Cardinal John Dew of Wellington and Australian Archbishop Denis J. Hart of Melbourne to the congregation.

The congregation, which deals with liturgical questions and the celebration of the sacraments, began as two separate offices until they were joined by Blessed Paul VI in 1975.

Several heads of Vatican offices were also named to the congregation, including: Cardinal Pietro Parolin, Vatican secretary of state; Cardinal Gianfranco Ravasi, president of the Pontifical Council for Culture; Cardinal Beniamino Stella, prefect of the Congregation for the Clergy; and Archbishop Piero Marini, president of the Pontifical Committee for International Eucharistic Congresses.

Other cardinals named included: Cardinals Rainer Maria Woelki of Cologne, Germany; John Olorunfemi Onaiyekan of Abuja, Nigeria; Philippe Ouedraogo of Ouagadougou, Burkina Faso; Ricardo Blazquez Perez of Valladolid, Spain; and Arlindo Gomes Furtado of Cape Verde.

Pope Francis also appointed as members: Archbishop Dominic Jala of Shillong, India; Archbishop Domenico Sorrentino of Assisi, Italy; Archbishop Bernard-Nicolas Aubertin of Tours, France; Archbishop Romulo G. Valles of Davao, Philippines; Archbishop Lorenzo Voltolini Esti of Portoviejo, Ecuador; Bishop Alan Hopes of East Anglia, England; Bishop Claudio Maniago of Castellaneta, Italy; Bishop Bernt Ivar Eidsvig of Oslo, Norway; Bishop Miguel Angel D'Annibale of Rio Gallegos, Argentina; Bishop Jose Manuel Garcia Cordeiro of Braganca-Miranda, Portugal; Swiss Bishop Charles Morerod of Lausanne, Geneva and Fribourg; Auxiliary Bishop Jean-Pierre Kwambamba Masi of Kinshasa, Congo; Bishop Benny Mario Travas of Multan, Pakistan; and Auxiliary Bishop John Bosco Chang Shin-Ho of Daegu, South Korea.

Comments (0)

There are no comments posted here yet

Leave your comments

  1. Posting comment as a guest. Sign up or login to your account.
Attachments (0 / 3)
Share Your Location

Please support The Catholic Register

Unlike many media companies, The Catholic Register has never charged readers for access to the news and information on our website. We want to keep our award-winning journalism as widely available as possible, which has become acutely important amid the ongoing COVID-19 crisis. But we need your help.

For more than 125 years, The Register has been a trusted source of faith-based journalism. By making even a small donation you help ensure our future as an important voice in the Catholic Church. If you support the mission of Catholic journalism, please donate today. Thank you.