Quinton Amundson, The Catholic Register

Quinton Amundson, The Catholic Register

By a vote of 6-4, the York Catholic District School Board voted against raising the Pride flag at the Catholic Education Centre in Aurora, Ont., for the month of June.

Heavy rainfall throughout the province of Alberta over the May long weekend potentially signaled a hopeful turning point in the effort to quell the 2023 wildfire state of emergency.

Conservative MP Ed Fast is looking to stop the intended expansion of Canada’s assisted-suicide regime in its tracks with Bill C-314 and harnessed his argument to Liberal promises when MAiD was first introduced. 

Will they or won’t they? The York Catholic District School Board (YCDSB) is among Ontario Catholic school boards that will decide if the rainbow Pride flag will be hung at its central office and at its schools throughout the month of June in support of the LGBT community.

So far Catholic parishes in the path of devastating wildfires that have swept across Alberta have only been evacuated as a precaution, with no parishes reporting any damage by mid-month.

Wendy Ashby, the trustee for the Waterloo Catholic District School Board (WCDSB) mired in controversy because of her past Twitter activity deemed anti-Christian has reportedly resigned from her position.

Acclaimed and prolific Canadian Catholic author Michael O’Brien once said, “If creators of Christian culture hope to produce work that will bear good fruit, we must draw our life from the true source — our living Saviour. He is real. He is present.”

Halton Regional Police Service’s Internet Child Exploitation Unit (I.C.E.) has laid 28 additional child pornography charges on a former Catholic elementary school teacher who has already been in custody since Jan. 5.

Campaign Life Coalition is calling on Canadians to emulate the United States in extending rights to all human beings, particularly those in the womb.

A recent tentative agreement struck in a St. John’s courtroom will transfer control over 32 schools on the Avalon and Burin peninsulas from the Roman Catholic Episcopal Corporation of St. John’s (RCESJ) to the Newfoundland and Labrador government.