When it comes to reporting on ecumenical and interfaith issues, no one in English North America does it better than The Catholic Register.

Published in Canada

The reporting and photography of veteran journalist Michael Swan was honoured 16 times as Catholic Register staff received a stunning 31 awards at a pair of gala celebrations held at Laval University.

Published in Canada

Catholic Register reporters, editors and designers were recognized for another year of outstanding achievement by taking home 14 awards, including eight first-place honours, at the annual Canadian Church Press gala dinner April 29 in Toronto.

Published in Canada: Toronto-GTA

TORONTO - Sometimes, it takes an outsider to speak the truth about our faith.

Published in Canada

The Catholic Register was recognized as the second best national Catholic newspaper in North America at the Catholic Media Conference awards ceremony June 22 in Indianapolis.

The awards handed out in the category of general excellence for national newspapers are the final presentations of a two-hour gala and are considered the most prestigious honours of the evening.

“Given the stiff competition from several large American publications, this is a tremendous achievement for The Register,” said publisher and editor Jim O’Leary. “It’s recognition of the hard work and talent of everyone who has a hand in producing our paper each week.”

Published in Canada: Toronto-GTA

TORONTO - With associate editor Michael Swan taking three first-place prizes, The Catholic Register led all Catholic publications by winning 15 Awards of Merit on May 11 at the annual Canadian Church Press awards banquet.

In total, The Register won four first-place awards, six seconds, three thirds and two honourable mentions.

“It was a remarkable year for our team of reporters, editors and designers,” said Publisher and Editor Jim O’Leary. “We work hard to bring our readers quality journalism so it’s heartening when a panel of impartial judges recognizes the work we do.”

Published in Features

TORONTO - Six of the province’s 21,000 principals were recognized April 27 by the Catholic Principals’ Council of Ontario for their contributions to the education community.

The 2012 Principal of the Year Award recipients are Nola Collins from the Bruce-Grey Catholic District School Board, Janet Demaiter from the Algonquin and Lakeshore Catholic District School Board, Andrea Iserhoff from the Northeastern Catholic District School Board, Romolo Villani from the York Catholic District School Board, and Odilia Pariselli and Maria Pereira from the Toronto Catholic District School Board.

Selected by their respective principal associations, winners were honoured with a gala dinner and a spherical glass trophy.

Published in Education